Welcome!

The National Health Collaborative on Violence and Abuse (NHCVA) is comprised of more than 30 national professional health associations, dedicated to reducing and addressing the health consequences of intimate partner violence(IPV) and abuse. Learn more about NHCVA and view a list of member associations. NHCVA offers free resources and  webinars featuring experts on key topics in health and domestic/sexual violence. For more information, please contact us.

 

UPCOMING EVENTSWebinar: Human Trafficking: The Role of the Health Care Provider
Wednesday, May 14, 2014
12:00-1:30pm PDT/ 1:00-2:30pm MDT/ 2:00-3:30pm CDT/ 3:00-4:30pm EDT
To register, please follow this link: http://futureswithoutviolence.adobeconnect.com/htwebinar/event/registration.html

For more information, click here.


WHAT’S NEW

Hardship Exemption for Women Who Have Experienced Domestic Violence

On March 26, 2014, the IRS issued important guidance to address a problem that had kept women who have experienced domestic violence from being able to access health insurance through the federal Insurance Marketplaces.

Federal rules required legally married women count their husbands’ income when applying for health insurance through the Marketplace–even when the woman was estranged from the spouse, living separately, or had no access to their husband’s income. This mean that women who by themselves would qualify for financial help to buy coverage were unable to get it.

The IRS has now implement policy that says that even if you are still married, you can be eligible for financial help for health insurance if: you live apart from your spouse at the time they file taxes and indicate on their taxes that they are unable to file jointly with their spouse due to domestic abuse. These women have also been given a special enrollment period to get coverage.

At this time, it is unclear what documentation will be needed, if any, to prove domestic violence. HHS will issue clarifications soon.

Click here to view the rules on the Special Enrollment Periods for women who have experienced DV.


RESOURCES


OTHER RESOURCES

Comments are closed.